Alghero (Italy), June 8, 2014. Sebastien Ogier and Ingrassia Julienne on Volkswagen Polo R WRC won Rally Italia Sardegna, sixth round of World Rally Championship, organized by Automobile Club d'Italia. As previous days, still a large crowd followed the four Sunday's special stages and then Alghero's final podium.

French crew was quickest in 4 out of 17 special stages, managing during first leg of the rally and then pushing hard on Saturday's second one to take the lead, held up to the finish line. With this Italian success, Reigning World Champion has increased his leadership in the standings: "Great feeling with the car, I had to push hard. It has been difficult to open the way on day one, but then it went great. We managed to put pressure on Latvala yesterday and now we have won. Really good feeling winning this race. It is good for the championship, we need to carry on like this. There is no time to relax because Jari-Matti is going well".

Second place for Norwegian Mads Ostberg behind the wheel of Citroen DS3 WRC, ready to take this position on Saturday when a puncture dropped Jari-Matti Latvala in third place. Finn driver finished the race on podium after leading for nearly two days winning seventh special stages on Volkswagen Polo R WRC.

Fourth is Norwegian Andreas Mikkelsen, also on Polo, who won the final Power Stage scoring a three-point bonus. Fifth place for Britain Elfyn Evans and his Ford Fiesta RS WRC, very consistent in his race pace. Czech Martin Prokop is sixth, Norwegian Henning Solberg is seventh and Robert Kubica is eight on a Fiesta too. Polish driver had to stop because of a damaged wheel yesterday but rejoined the race this morning. Belgian Thierry Neuville also was among the major contenders of each special stage with Hyundai i20 WRC. His race was compromised by suspension issue during the first day. Being ninth overall, Italian Lorenzo Bertelli won WRC2 category on Ford Fiesta RRC together with co-driver Mitia Dotta and now they are the new leader in the WRC2 standings.

SS winners: Latvala 7 (SS5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 15, 16) - Ogier 4 (SS8, 11, 12, 13) - Otsberg 2 (SS4, 14) - Mikkelsen 1 (SS17 Power Stage) - Neuville 1 (SS2) - Hanninen 1 (SS3) - Hirvonen 1 (SS1).

Top Ten: 1. Ogier - Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo R WRC) 4:02:37.8; 2. Otsberg - Andersson (Citroen DS3 WRC) + 1:23.1;. 3. Matti Latvala - Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo R WRC) + 1:32.8; 4. Mikkelsen - Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC) +2:39.3; 5. Evans - Barritt (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) +4:41.8; 6. Prokop - Tomanek (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) + 6:05.3; 7. Solberg - Minor (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) + 7:15.8; 8. Kubica - Szczepaniak (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) + 12:19.0; 9. Bertelli - Dotta (Ford Fiesta RRC) + 15:22.1; 10. Al Qassimi - Patterson (Citroen DS 3 WRC) + 16:49.3.